The Aldine Education Foundation (AEF) and Aldine Scholarship Foundation (ASF) awarded scholarships to 139 Aldine ISD seniors during an awards ceremony on Thursday, May 23 at Davis High School.

The two non-profit foundations have joined forces to enable more Aldine ISD students to receive financial support for college, to provide additional choices for college and to award grants to teachers for innovative classroom instruction.

AEF, incorporated in 2012, will become the umbrella organization for two funds: the ASF Fund, now under the direction of the Aldine Scholarship Foundation Board, and the AEF general fund. ASF’s permanent endowment totaling more than $2 million will continue to be managed by the Lone Star College System. When the merger of AEF and ASF is complete, students and teachers will have greater resources and opportunities, and donors will have more choices to support student success in Aldine ISD.

During the ceremony, ASF awarded 104 scholarships to AISD senior, the most it has ever awarded in its 23-year history.

AISD seniors who received scholarships were Rayna Chong, who received the Aaron Glenn Award; Tonya Ashworth, Nancy Caballero, Jorge Hernandez, Kimberly Hicks, Aiesha Jones, Debbie Martinez, Victoria Mejia, Jennifer Ortega, Myeshia Stubblefield, Melina Vance and Ayesha Zahir, who received the Aldine ISD Awards; Alondra Barragan, Lillybeth Berrones, Nelly Colocho, Nancy Cruz, Nicole Dixon, Rolando Garcia, Gregoryell Holmes, Ariel Maris, Ty’Viey McNeil and Monica Torres, who received Aldine ISD Staff Endowment Awards; Alexus Debruce and Myrella Flores, who received Aldine Optimist Awards; Eric Fernandez, who received the ASF Board of Directors Award; Judith Gallegos, who received the Chris May Memorial Special Scholarship; and Cristina Corral, who received the Deanie Merrritt Award.

Additional seniors who were presented ASF scholarships were Hector Coronado, who received the Donnie Drawhorn Memorial Award; David Coronado, who received the Doris Davis Award; Ana Aviles, Jennifer Calixto, Karen Celestino, Laura Delgado, Becky Deluna, Maria Diaz, Daniel Fabela, Jessica Garcia, Joshua Guillen, Brenda Hinojosa, Brittany Ladezma, Tyra Nash, Jessica Zarate, Gensel Reyes, Erika Santana, Jose Vanegas and Isaac Webster, who received East Aldine District Awards; Jose Dominguez and Bryan Montiel, who received Gallery Furniture Awards; Noeli Mondragon, who received the Glenn and Linda Huntley Award; Monica Gamez and Lizbeth Ibarra, who received the Greater Inwood Partnership Awards; Eduardo Hernandez, who received the Harvey and Yvonne Stotts Award; and Irvin Arevalo and Claudia Morillon, who received the Houston-Aldine Lions Club Award.

Seniors Johnny Campos and Karla Manrique, who received the Houston Intercontinental Chamber of Commerce Awards; Karina Contreras received the John E. Pickelman Award; Selina Balleza, Aimee Barron, Brittany Cauthen, Francisco Duarte, Shanythia Jenkins, Deshonna Moore, Gamaliel Moreno, Victoria Myers, Johnny Ramirez, Angelica Sagredo, Kevin Sanchez, Chelsie Taylor, Mayda Vazquez, Emily Villarreal and Mayra Zamarripa received the Lone Stare College-North Harris Awards; Cecilia Gomez and Lady Rios received the M.B. “Sonny” Donaldson Awards; Aidee Chaverria received the M.O. Campbell Award; Diocelin Valencia received the MacArthur Senior High School Award; Alex Jaimes and Victoria Villicana received the Motiva Awards; Emily Castillo, received the Muriel Sharpe Special Scholarship; Gladys Castillo-Garcia, received the Nadine Kujawa Award; and Alexis McGrough received the Nike Myers and Cher Brock Endowed Scholarship.

Additional AISD seniors who received ASF scholarships were Jesse Cantu, Nhut Chau, Janeth Rojas, Anadeli Rosales, Edith Valdez and Tanairy Zacarias, who received the Prosperity Bank Awards; Ivania Guardado, who received the Richard and Barbara Lee Memorial Award; Paola Casteneda, who received the Rigsdell Family Awards, Talia Sandoval, who received the Ron and Mary Oruc Award; Gabriela Aguilera, Erick Diaz, Edgar Rodriguez and Daniel Ruiz, who received the Stan and Suzanne St. Pierre Awards; Marcos Garcia, who received the Steve Mead Award; La’Shon Jones and Amella Posas, who received the Steven Parker Memorial Award; Stephan Bell, Diana Garcia and Jasmin Reyes, who received the Supertravel Awards; Markel Young, who received the Supertravel Aldine Teachers Award; Devin Angelle and Herbert Ash, who received the Texas Pioneer Foundation Awards; and Nayeli Reyes, who received the W.W. Thorne Award.

Three Aldine ISD seniors each received $5,000 AEF scholarships. Those students were Monica Gonzalez, Genesis Garfio and Alexandria Lopez. Eight Aldine ISD seniors received $1,000 AEF scholarships. Those students were: Aaliyah Holiday, Gabrielle Miller, Delaney Williams, Lillian Nguyen, Thuy Nguyen, William Reyes, Oscar Maradiaga Villalta and Vivian Hernandez.

Twenty-four Aldine ISD seniors received AEF scholarships, which were funded by the East Aldine Management District. Those students were Priscilla DeLeon, Lucia Delgado, David Hernandez, Jr., Sandra Huerta, Karina Jaramillo, Yamilex Jaramillo, Diego Ordaz Macias, Candy Martinez, Gisela Martinez, Myroslaba Martinez, Stephanie Nandial, Jessica Nino de Rivera, Abdiel Perez, Derek Phavorachit, Jairo Portillo, Marquette Pradia, Alexander Sandoval, Griselda Soto, Kitzia Soto, Cristina Zamarripa, Angelica Rae Reyes, Alexis DeLeon Galvan and Ramon Madden.

Prior to receiving their scholarships the students and audience heard addresses by Aldine ISD Dr. Wanda Bamberg, Lone Star College-North Harris President Dr. Steve Head, and 2012 ASF recipient Jessica Garcia. Seth Sharr, president of ASF and co-president of AEF, served as master of ceremonies, while Terry Williams, AEF co-president, delivered the closing remarks.

Photos by Roan Matthews |